… I forgot what I was doing. Well, what I was SUPPOSED to be doing. Catering to all the feedback I’ve been receiving in class, I’ve be completely derailed from my original plan. So, about that plan…

These are the concepts that I wanted to complete this semester:

  • Spider and its bowl web
  • Several trees
  • Several plants, flowers, and parasites
  • One or two fish
  • Flying and ground insects
  • One or two small mammals
  • One or two birds
  • A map of the forest
  • 3 environment concept drawings

We are halfway through the semester and I am not halfway through this list. I have a spiderit’s web, several plants (12), and a rough sketch of a map.

So, it’s time to rethink my schedule and my deadlines. I have a blog post for this project due on October 16th, 23rd, and 30th; November  6th, 13th, 20th, and 27th; and December 4th, 11th, and possibly 18th.

What if I cut out doing all those individual assets that I’ve not been getting constructive feedback on and instead focus on the environment? Practice my digital painting of scenes for the rest of the semester and come back to assets if I have some solid pieces and time left over.

This week, after a lengthy conversation and good advice from my friend, Kat Dorland, I’ve decided to scale back to first following a photo reference closely to get the basic idea down. From there, I’m going to tweak it how I need to in order for it to more fully fit my concept. To start, however, I’m using this photo as a base just to get the idea down.

spidercreek1_1

I played around with different strokes and techniques so that I could better understand how to create the different lighting effects to be more photo-realistic (you need to know the rules in order to properly break them for a stylized concept). Next week I’m going to finish off the digital painting so that it’s 100% my own painting and has the composition modified to fit my concept, then I will try another.

I’m also finding that working strictly in digital for this project may not be the best route, so I’m toying around with the idea of doing more traditional media sketches just to get SOMETHING down; keeping what I like to finish it in digital, filing away what I don’t. I’ll do a few sketches for that next week.

